Hyundai IONIQ Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello y'all,

I just got my new IONIQ 2020 last week and have been delighted with its technology and the car itself.
The worse of living in such a north country is the cold weather in winter. From -5C to -20C. My expectation is to drive the car as much as possible on electricity and so use ICE to a minimal if not 0.

To my surprise, the car uses ICE if I use any kind of ventilation with these sub-zero temperatures. A bit of deal-breaker. :(
From my experience, I can only drive in EV mode if the ventilation is OFF. When it's off I get 'Check HEV system' warning..

It's my first PHEV and so I'm still learning and testing it. Not the best season to get the first-ever, but very happy with the purchase.

Looking forward to exchanging some experiences and learn with the community.
If there's anyone living in similar conditions as mine and have a PHEV I'd like to pick your brains on best practices and what you have discovered so far about the car's reaction to the weather.

Cheers,
Paulo

·
Registered
446 Posts
Welcome to the forum Paulo. Glad you are enjoying your new car. The PHEV Ioniq generates cabin heat using the ICE. That is a bit unfortunate if you live in a cold climate, but it is normal car functionality. Some people try to work around this by using the seat heaters and steering wheel heater first.

I have a 2018 US model PHEV Ioniq and I do not get any message when I turn the HVAC system off. If you are getting a 'Check HEV System' message perhaps there is something else going on. It doesn't sound normal. There is a lot of information available on the forum. Perhaps if you searched the forum you might find some useful information. Else I might call the Hyundai dealership.

·
Registered
519 Posts