Hyundai IONIQ Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
377 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the etiquette of EVs but something's just seem like common sense.

The local mall put in 2 FLO charger posts consisting of two level 2 and 2two level 3 and three EV parking spots.

I was driving by and noticed a Chevy Volt parked in an EV spot not plugged in. Is this acceptable? If so I would love to take advantage, but I always feel like those should be open to anyone who needs to charge.

I'm curious about others opinion on this.

·
Registered
74 Posts
spaces should only be for charging. its bad form. Here in Ireland there are a number of places where the charging bays have a sign saying electric cars preferred which is a cute way of saying no penalty for ice cars or parking while not charging. as more electric cars are bought every year penalties for this behavior will need to be introduced.

·
Registered
377 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It looks like the often-used sign "Reserved Parking - Electric Vehicles Only" ought to be changed to "Reserved Parking - Electric Vehicles While Charging Only", with a supplemental sign to remind owners to move their EV after charging.
This should be at all charging stations.

·
Registered
179 Posts
Also an apps or a way to alert that charging is completed, both to the first owner as well as someone waiting to charge. I set the timer on my mobile phone, and I have an app to monitor the charging progress. And a couple of time, I had people leaving a sticky paper note on my windscreen with their phone number, I text them when done charging.

·
Registered
179 Posts
This should be at all charging stations.