Hyundai IONIQ Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
742 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a driver for a local automotive dealer. I pick up vehicles from remote locations and deliver vehicles customers have bought. Today I drove a 2019 Prius about 330 miles from an auction house to the dealer. Here are my impressions. First of all the Prius does not have as pleasing exterior lines as an Ioniq. When shutting a door it does not have as secure a thud as an Ioniq. After driving the Prius for five hours, the seat is not as comfortable as the Ioniq. The interior of the Prius is hard plastic everywhere. I feel like it is more of a toy than a car. The placement of the driver information readouts are to far away and difficult to read. The front of the dash to windshield is so deep you could have a picnic up there! Toyota continues to use a stupid stalk behind the steering wheel to activate the cruise control. I find it laborious to use. Speaking of cruise control, there is an automatic adaptive cruise, but it is not user friendly by not allowing you to control the distance it activates between you and the vehicle in front of you. Without going into a menu there is no readout of current battery charge or the engine temperature. Driving the Prius is just not as user friendly as the Ionic. Although it has a USB charge port, that port does not work with the media system like the Ioniq does. The media system has to much base boost and I was unable to easily find a control for that! The steering is overly sensitive and engine noise annoying. It also has more road noise transmitted to the passengers than the Ioniq. There is no readout for how much regeneration is happening when braking with out again going to a menu and that is not safe to do when driving. The Bluetooth connection to the media center worked both for music and phone. Before I purchased my Ioniq I test drove the Prius and decided on the Ioniq. I realize now I made the right decision. I will mention one final th