Hyundai IONIQ Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There has been an ongoing discussion on PriusChat regarding the comparisons. Unfortunately, not a lot is known about the Ioniq to date. Some have referred to the Sonata hybrid for answers, but others do not seem to think the Ioniq will share much with the Sonata.

I hope that as more is released, there will be an intense discussion on this thread, and also the technical thread.

Personally, based solely on pictures I've seen of both vehicles, IMHO, the Ioniq wins the visual comparison. It will remain to be seen how they compare in fuel efficiency. Hyundai says it will get better milage than the Prius on the highway. The conjecture is that it will not fare so well in the city. The general feeling is the Ioniq will out-perform the Prius at highway speeds, but be slower at lower speeds.

I'm just repeating some of the discussion. Do not ask me to explain, because I am not an engineer. If you have questions, search out PriusChat forum.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am repeating a comment I made on another thread:
I hope that Hyundai is re-evaluating some of the design parameters of the Ioniq now that they have seen the new Prius. It appears, at least to me, the Ioniq is very competitive with the 3rd generation Prius. But Toyota made a lot of technical upgrades in the new Prius. If Hyundai wants to compete, adjustments will need to be made ..... and/or, priced considerably lower than the new Prius.

The Ioniq was boasted to be a "Prius killer." In my opinion, the Prius killed itself with it's goofy looks, and Hyundai can take no credit for that. But I have hopes the Ioniq will really be something special by the time it is released here in the USA.

·
Super Moderator
8,216 Posts
hmm,

prius 124PS or 91KW, compared to 143PSof the ioniq

prius 0-62mph 10.6sec, ioniq 0-62 I think I have seen 10.2 sec so not much in it

both have 0.24 drag coefficient