Hyundai IONIQ Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What worries me about electric vehicles is the high cost of a replacement battery. I recognise the car has a warranty but in the event that the battery fails at the end of the warranty, you're looking at a $10,000 cost.

We don't have a lot of money but have the ability to buy this vehicle with rebates. I'm just really worried about the high cost of the battery because I'm sure we would like to keep the car for more than 10 years

·
Registered
102 Posts
"What worries me about ICE vehicles is the cumulative cost of replacing or repairing gaskets, spark plugs or injectors, turbochargers, exhaust systems, clutches, gearboxes, etc......."

I do not imagine it likely a manufacturer would knowingly offer (in the UK) a 8-year, 100,000 mile warranty on the traction battery unless the likely lifespan of that were well in excess of this duration.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm no an expert on EVs, but I seem to remember the earlier Nissan Leaf EVs were plagued with battery problems. After a few years of depreciation, the car loses a lot of value and when you have to factor in a replacement battery, it just seems like you have wasted your money.

·
Registered
206 Posts
I'm no an expert on EVs, but I seem to remember the earlier Nissan Leaf EVs were plagued with battery problems. After a few years of depreciation, the car loses a lot of value and when you have to factor in a replacement battery, it just seems like you have wasted your money.
Key words are "earlier Leaf" and the affected ones were mainly in hot climates. Battery chemistry was adjusted and the Leaf batteries age a lot better. There is even a buzzing repair scene forming in most markets for refurbishing Leaf batteries to original spec or better for reasonable price.

·
Registered
777 Posts