Hyundai IONIQ Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
Red 2019 Ioniq 38 Premium EV
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I bought a 1 yr-old 38 kWh Ioniq Premium EV in red just a month ago, this is replacing the Vauxhall Ampera Rex that I've been running for 5 years now. Have been looking for something suitable, that I could afford, had to be a similar sized hatchback capable of doing 160 mile trip in winter non-stop with a small safety margin. I do about 12k miles p.a., and in the Ampera that worked out at 6k miles totally solar-powered doing the local stuff perfectly, but long regular trips always used petrol, so I averaged 94 mpg overall. Now I should manage infinite mpg!

While buying the car at the dealer, the key fob got detached from the key + keyring twice while in my pocket! This happened again after I got the car home late at night, and the fob bit fell onto my drive; fortunately I noticed this, as it rained later. Key+Fob has a small pin to release mechanical key for emergency use, but why didn't Hyundai just make it the usual flip-out design? Bonkers decision to make it so easy to lose the fob, imho. Other Hyundai keys have a recessed slider, better, and safer, but still a silly design. To get around this, I've designed & made a small plastic shield that clamps onto the key-section and shields that pin from accidental pressing. Pics posted below, if you'ld like one (Xmas prezzy?), search on eBay for Hyundai Fob & Key Accidental Separation Loss Preventer Guard and you'll find it!