Hyundai IONIQ Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new with EV and have a new Ioniq electric from 2020. I asked the dealer in my hometown I sweden if I should charge 100% and they said yes. I do not know if they acctually have the knowledge. What do you say? Charge between 20 and 80? Is it better to charge small amount of kw everyday or is ot better to charge once nearly full? What is best for the batteries?

Tanks for I nice forum
/Andreas

·
Registered
2019 Ioniq 28kWh
119 Posts
Stay as close to 50% as you comfortably can. After all it's an expensive car so you must find a way to maximize the bang for the buck too.

I could charge to 100% every other day or charge everyday to 75% and drive down to like 30%. The latter is to prefer of course. But in some cases the first use case better suites my comfort that day, then I choose that. But that's very rare, still I would not hesitate. If knowing I will go for a trip on the weekend I might choose to charge to 100% at Friday leaving work with a full charge.

Use the car full out but do your best to keep it close to 50% and all is as good as you can make it. Think of it like oil changes. You follow the service books 30000km and all is fine, no need to make more changes than needed. Some might opt for 15000km and yes, you could argue 15000km is better than 30000km but it would make zero sense to jump to 5000km intervalls. Same here.... Keep it as good as you can without letting it become some sort of ghost haunting you. Still 0% is not zero and 100% is not hundred after all.

·
Registered
111 Posts