Hyundai IONIQ Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just got our Ioniq Hybrid Blue and now have a question about towing. One of the salesmen said it must be flatbed trailered, but even the manual says it can be towed on a dolly. We have an RV Motorhome and currently have a dolly that we used with our old PT Cruiser. We are currently leasing so don't really want to accumulate a lot of non-driving miles, so if that is the problem, we will probably get a flatbed trailer. But it would be easier if we could use our dolly. The vehicle is FWD so as long as the front wheels are up, doesn't that keep it from actuating the mileage? If this topic is somewhere else, I apologize but I could not find it. And we have a short trip planned at the end of the month, so any replies ASAP would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
'17 Marina Blue HEV Ltd I O N I Q since 25 Jul '17
1,846 Posts
I'm not an expert on the subject, by any means, but it seems to me that as long as your tow dolly is for both front and rear axles, so all 4 wheels are off the ground, you should be okay.

·
Registered
3,268 Posts
The manual says rear wheels on the road is fine for towing. In another section, it suggests turning off AEB in settings while towing. It also says the odometer records driven miles. I doubt there is a sensor on the rear wheels in any FWD car, and probably darn few modern cars of any configuration.

·
Registered
84 Posts
looking in the manual you are OK to use a dolly so long as the front wheels are off the ground.

Attachments

·
Registered
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Limited with Ultimate Package
1,131 Posts
I think any front wheel drive car is OK on a dolly as long as the front wheels are off the ground. The issues with dollies come from all wheel drive or rear wheel drive.

·
Registered
1,846 Posts
Four wheels off the ground would be a trailer. With a dolly, only two of the wheels will be off the ground.