Hyundai IONIQ Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2022 Ioniq 5 SEL - Lucid Blue
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've tried Auto regen, but I don't like the fact that it's unpredictable. Does that bother you? Sometimes when I let off the gas, there's no discernible regen. Other times it acts as if I'm in Level 3. It might be working on an algorithm for energy savings, but it leaves me as a driver confused. Is it going to slow this time or isn't it? As a driver, I need to know automatically, without thinking about it -- especially in an emergency situation.

·
Registered
Preferred AWD L.Blue
166 Posts
Tom, I haven't found Auto too unpredictable. If there's no vehicle in front of me, and I lift off, it almost coasts - level 0 or 1.
If there's traffic ahead, or coming up to a stopped vehicle, it will "brake" harder, and increase to level 3 if quite close, or, if driving quickly towards a stopped vehicle, it will "brake" harder (level 3) at a greater distance.

But I certainly wouldn't rely on it for an urgent stop. In an emergency, I think the instinct still has to be go hard for the brake, but squeezing the left paddle hard may get you a jump start before your foot gets to the brake.

But FYI, I'm working on testing the brake lights, and I haven't found them to come on under any regenerative braking - only when the brake pedal is pushed hard enough to get to the physical brakes, not just the regen "brakes". But I want to do some more testing of this to confirm it.

·
Registered
MY22 Ioniq 5 AWD
805 Posts
But FYI, I'm working on testing the brake lights, and I haven't found them to come on under any regenerative braking - only when the brake pedal is pushed hard enough to get to the physical brakes, not just the regen "brakes". But I want to do some more testing of this to confirm it.