Hyundai IONIQ Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In another post I said my car Ioniq 5 with 4000 miles had a dead a/c Shop replaced the compressor only to find no a/c working. No one knows what to do. Service called the Hyundai 1800-I don't know what to do hotline. Try this - we will send three more parts and hope that works. It is 95 degrees in so cal and I and I am getting ill from the heat

Maybe the parts will come next week but no one know that either.

Think it will work with the new three parts? If not lemon law attorney here I come

·
Registered
22 Posts
The PTC is part of the HVAC system, and as such, if it doesn't work then the system (which includes both cooling and heating) does not work reliably. I'm not an engineer or know much about these systems, but I can only tell you that my a/c was unreliable -- it usually took 5-10 minutes of the car moving before it would do any cooling -- and after they replaced the PTC, it works great from the get-go. It took them 3 weeks to get the part, and an hour or two to replace it. They did not allow me to drive the I5 until it was all working, so I got a ICE loaner car. And, no, I wasn't happy with that arrangement, but they did ultimately repair the I5 and it's been cool and reliable ever since.

·
Registered
32 Posts
My car is also really hot. The blower motor is busted and makes an obnoxious squeal. So I alternate between a hot car (AC off) and blasting the radio to drown out the squeal (AC on). Got an estimate of 4 or more months to get the part and schedule the dealer service. Thanks, Hyundai... I get to use my AC again after the hot summer months. Ugh.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I talked with a California lemon law lawyer yesterday regarding the air con not working He told me that I needed three repair attempts then he would take the case One more to go if the dealer ever gets the the next order of parts.