Change mph to kmh - Hyundai Ioniq Forum
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 28-04-18, 07:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 8
Change mph to kmh

Does anyone out there know how to change the digital display from mph to kmh?
Boxobeer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 29-04-18, 02:03 AM
Senior Member
 
chui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Near Polis Cyprus
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxobeer View Post
Does anyone out there know how to change the digital display from mph to kmh?
Yes.......as far as I am aware you cannot.
Though I'm not sure what you mean by "digital" display. Certainly the speedo is fixed as MPH or KPH according to country and the small digital figures under the centre of the dial will read the opposite to the main display and these cannot be changed. There is also the option of a larger digital readout on the information section to the right of the speedo. I'm not sue if that can be changed.
bluecar1 likes this.

Ioniq EV SE 2017 Platinum Silver
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(UK spec)
chui is online now  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 29-04-18, 02:37 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 8
In my other vehicles I read the digital number for how fast I am going in kmph. I never look at the dial ( not sure what it is called). In the Ioniq the dial is in kmh and the digital display is in mph. I want them both to be in kmph. Unless I drive to the USA I don't need to know the mph.
I hope there is a way to change it. Haven't found one yet.
Boxobeer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 29-04-18, 02:47 AM
Junior Member
 
maxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Near Watford. UK
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxobeer View Post
Does anyone out there know how to change the digital display from mph to kmh?
My understanding is that it can't be changed. It's set for whichever country the vehicle is distributed in....... UK of course is mph.
maxima is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 29-04-18, 03:09 AM
BDG
Senior Member
 
BDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cornwall,uk
Posts: 2,044
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxobeer View Post
Does anyone out there know how to change the digital display from mph to kmh?
It can't be changed in UK, there is a Km/h digital display in middle of speedometer, a digital mph selectable on right of speedometer display.
As an alternative you can use android auto with Waze to display speed on multimedia display in either Km/h or mph

Another alternative is a android mobile phone app "GPS Speedometer and odometer" by cool niks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010410.JPG
Views:	254
Size:	141.0 KB
ID:	24137   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010413.JPG
Views:	184
Size:	160.0 KB
ID:	24145   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010414.JPG
Views:	192
Size:	154.5 KB
ID:	24153  
bluecar1 likes this.

St Austell, Cornwall, UK
PHEV Premium Marina Blue


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by BDG; 29-04-18 at 03:59 AM.
BDG is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 29-04-18, 04:37 AM
Senior Member
 
chui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Near Polis Cyprus
Posts: 607
I think that as your main "speedo" display is in Kph the ancillary digital display (to the right of the main speedo display)that you can select, by using the left hand of the 2 right hand toggles on the right of the steering wheel and then the up/down toggle switch underneath, to display Kph in large digital numbers.

Ioniq EV SE 2017 Platinum Silver
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(UK spec)

Last edited by chui; 29-04-18 at 04:38 AM. Reason: add text
chui is online now  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 29-04-18, 02:16 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 8
Thanks for all the responses. It will be annoying but I will learnt live with it. 😐
Boxobeer is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 30-04-18, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
ds093's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,200
Garage
On Canadian vehicles, the only units capable of being changed are the Fuel Economy units, and those can only be switched between L/100 km and km/L. No other option for those units and no options for any other units on the car, unfortunately.

Paul W | 2017 Marina Blue Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Ltd 6-speed dual clutch automatic

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Previous:
2013 Desert Bronze Hyundai Elantra GL 6-spd auto (13-17)
2010 Indigo Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4L GL 6-spd manual (10-13)
2008 Black Hyundai Accent GL 5-spd manual (08-10)
2001 White Kia Rio 5-spd manual (05-08)
1996 Royal Blue (purple) Hyundai Accent GLS 4-spd auto (01-05)
ds093 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 30-04-18, 02:05 PM
Cha
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Fairfield County, CT, US
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxobeer View Post
In my other vehicles I read the digital number for how fast I am going in kmph. I never look at the dial ( not sure what it is called). In the Ioniq the dial is in kmh and the digital display is in mph. I want them both to be in kmph. Unless I drive to the USA I don't need to know the mph.
I hope there is a way to change it. Haven't found one yet.
That can NOT be changed. if the dial is KPH the digital will be in MPH, and if the dial is MPH the digital will be KPH. I'm in USA and I want them to be both MPH, unfortunately it can't be.
Cha is online now  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 30-04-18, 09:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 60
Garage
There is an option to disable the KPH display under the spedo so you don't have to look at it. I prefer the accuracy of the KPH. 1.6 vs 1.
ZeRaW is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Hyundai Ioniq Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake fluid change BDG Hyundai IONIQ General Discussion 2 16-03-18 01:41 PM
Change from mph to km and back ? jrumball Hyundai IONIQ User Interface 2 03-03-18 08:34 AM
Is it possible to change the color of the EV after the order has been placed? MikeC Hyundai IONIQ Dealers, Purchasing, and Ordering 4 28-07-17 08:50 AM
Can I change the travel range with something else? Cha Hyundai IONIQ General Discussion 10 13-07-17 02:30 PM
[UK] Change mpg, miles range to l/100km, km range? motorcyclesfish Hyundai IONIQ User Interface 2 19-04-17 05:11 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome